Written by 11:15 am Festivals & Awards, Featured, News

76th Cannes Film Festival Winners Announced: “Anatomy of a Fall” Wins “Palme d’Or”

76th Cannes Film Festival Winners: “Anatomy of a Fall” Wins “Palme D’Or”

The prestigious 76th Cannes Film Festival came to a close with a grand closing ceremony, where the winners of various categories were honored for their outstanding contributions to the world of cinema. The festival, known for showcasing exceptional films and talent, concluded with the announcement of the coveted awards.

In the main competition, the highly acclaimed film “Anatomy of a Fall,” directed by Justine Triet, received the highest honor, the esteemed Palme d’Or. The film captivated audiences and impressed the jury with its remarkable storytelling and compelling performances.

Notably, Nuri Bilge Ceylan‘s masterpiece “About Dry Grasses” was also part of the main competition and garnered significant attention. Merve Dizdar delivered an exceptional performance in “About Dry Grasses” and was awarded the Best Actress accolade for her portrayal in the film. Her talent and dedication shone through, leaving a lasting impression on the jury and festival attendees alike.

The distinguished jury, led by Ruben Östlund, awarded the Jury Grand Prize to Jonathan Glazer‘s thought-provoking film “The Zone of Interest.” This remarkable achievement highlights the film’s exceptional direction, engaging narrative, and artistic prowess. Additionally, Aki Kaurismäki‘s “Fallen Leaves” received the Jury Prize, recognizing its unique storytelling and impactful message.

The complete list of films honored at the 76th Cannes Film Festival is as follows:

Main Competition:

Palme d’Or:

“Anatomy of a Fall” (Directed by Justine Triet)

“Anatomy of a Fall” (Directed by Justine Triet) at 76th Cannes Film Festival

Jury Grand Prize:

“The Zone of Interest” (Directed by Jonathan Glazer)

“The Zone of Interest” (Directed by Jonathan Glazer) at 76th Cannes Film Festival

Jury Prize:

“Fallen Leaves” (Directed by Aki Kaurismäki)

“Fallen Leaves” (Directed by Aki Kaurismäki) at 76th Cannes Film Festival

Best Director:

Tran Anh Hung (“The Pot au Feu”)

Tran Anh Hung (“The Pot au Feu”) at 76th Cannes Film Festival

Best Screenplay:

Sakamoto Yûji (“Monster”)

Sakamoto Yûji (“Monster”) at 76th Cannes Film Festival

Best Actress:

Merve Dizdar (“About Dry Grasses”)

Merve Dizdar (“About Dry Grasses”) at 76th Cannes Film Festival

Best Actor:

Kōji Yakusho (“Perfect Days”)

Kōji Yakusho (“Perfect Days”) at 76th Cannes Film Festival

Un Certain Regard:

Un Certain Regard Award:

“How to Have Sex” (Directed by Molly Manning Walker)

Jury Prize:

“Hounds” (Directed by Asmae El Moudir)

Best Director:

Asmae El Moudir (“The Mother of All Lies”)

Freedom Award:

Mohamed Kordofani (“Goodbye Julia”)

Ensemble Performance Award:

“The Buriti Flower”

Emerging Voice Award:

“Omen” (Directed by Baloji)

Other Awards:

Caméra d’Or (Best First Feature):

“Inside the Yellow Cocoon Shell” (Directed by Thien An Pham)

Golden Palm for Best Short Film:

“27” (Directed by Flóra Anna Buda)

Short Film Special Mention:

“Fár” (Directed by Gunnur Martinsdóttir Schlüter)

Queer Palm:

“Monster” (Directed by Hirokazu Koreeda)

READ MORE: The Ultimate Guide to the Cannes Film Festival: Everything You Need to Know!

The Cannes Film Festival celebrates the art of filmmaking and provides a platform for talented artists to showcase their work on a global stage. This year’s edition proved to be a remarkable success, with outstanding films captivating audiences and receiving well-deserved recognition. The festival continues to be a symbol of excellence in the world of cinema, and the winners of the 76th Cannes Film Festival have undoubtedly made their mark in the industry.

As the curtains fall on another remarkable edition of the Cannes Film Festival, cinephiles and industry professionals eagerly await the next chapter, anticipating the emergence of new cinematic gems and exceptional talents that will continue to shape the future of filmmaking.

(Visited 49 times, 1 visits today)

Last modified: November 26, 2023